Hollow Man

Hollow ManHollow Man was fun to work on, if not to watch.  I had a small part in a comic relief scene.  It was a night shoot in front of the Old Ebbit Grill in Washington, DC.  My “wife” and I were driving with our two “children.”  Kevin Bacon (now invisible, deranged, and wearing head bandages and sunglasses) pulls up in his Porsche next to our car.  The kids look over at Kevin and make funny faces at him.  Kevin freaks them out by lifting his sunglasses to reveal the empty eye sockets.  The children scream things like “Daddy, that man has no eyes!  There’s a monster in that car!  Eeeeck!”

Mom and I tell the kids to pipe down and we start bickering over whose fault it is.  “This is your fault for letting them watch those scary movies.”  “No, it’s your fault, letting them eat candy before dinner.”

Kids are such kooks.  When the six-year-old girl who played my daughter was introduced to Kevin Bacon for the first time she said, “Oh, you’re Kevin Bacon?  I want to eat you!  Yummy!  Kevin BACON!  I just want to put you in a pan and sizzle you up.   Mmm!”

I was equally excited to meet Kevin, having been a fan since Footloose (although somewhat less inclined to put him in a frying pan).  He came across to me as down-to-earth, smart, and funny.  The best part of being in the movie?  I now have a “Bacon Number” of 1 (along with 2,480 other people).

About Steve Altes

Steve Altes is the author of several humor books, dozens of humorous adventure essays, and the comedic graphic novel Geeks & Greeks, set at MIT and inspired by MIT's culture of hacking and Steve's own experiences with hazing.
This entry was posted in Show Business Humiliations. Bookmark the permalink.